Where Inspiration Is

Everyone’s life is a pool of inspiration, whether it is for light or dark themed creative work. I am no different. In my work, I explore the traits that I see in the characters that are created or an antithesis of an idea. Sometimes, deep within my dreams, an idea will burn its way into my mind. Then, and only for the briefest of moments, a window opens. The dream is alive and for that fleeting few seconds, it is there, as real as you or I.

My life is one lived in fear because of the anxieties that plague my days. When I create a character, I want to show the strength and courage that I myself no longer possess. They should embody the traits that make real warriors and heroes who they are. Courage, honor, and integrity are at the forefront of all of my projects. Each model is carefully selected to encompass the entire character, otherwise it just would not work in the end result.

Inspiration is found in many places. When I am out hiking, there is always the chance of finding that one unique location, or maybe several pieces from different places that can be brought together to create an environment that doesn’t exist on this world. Artwork of heroes and warriors that exist only in the creator’s mind and on their canvas open the doors to a plethora of ideas. It can make the impossible now possible.

Sometimes the passion that exudes from another artist is enough to light the fire of creativity. To watch as their idea forms right in front of you can inspire anyone to create. Sometimes, as you watch, the idea can take on a life of its own and become so much more than was envisioned, and that’s ok. Being stuck to an idea that has no room to grow is limiting. Limits placed on idea can quell the fires that had burned so brightly.

Inspiration can be found at any time, from anyone, and in anything. Seeing it and transforming that idea into a tangible reality is the challenge of the artist. That is what makes it rewarding to create. My inspiration comes from the values that become increasingly difficult to live by, the fear and anxiety that rule my life, and the world I so much want to be a part of, yet always seem to be on the outside looking in. Of course, if my life had not taken the course it has, would my ideas still be what they are? Each of us has our own creative urges and ideas to explore with multitudes of avenues to do it. There is always something to inspire, even if you may not realize it yet.

Leave a Reply

